Four Corners News Leader

Follow Us On:

Polk and Lake County School Calendars

LAKE COUNTY SCHOOLS 2016-2017 STUDENT CALENDAR
AUGUST
August 10 First Day of Classes (Wednesday) 16 days
First Grading Period Begins (Wednesday)
SEPTEMBER
September 5 Labor Day / Student Holiday (Monday) 21 days
OCTOBER
October 14 End of First Grading Period (Friday) 10 days Total 47 Days
October 17 Non-Student Day / Teacher Work Day (Monday)
October 18 Classes Resume (Tuesday) 10 days
Second Grading Period Begins (Tuesday)
NOVEMBER
November 11 Veteran’s Day / Student Holiday (Friday) 16 days
November 21-25 Thanksgiving Holiday / Student Holiday (Monday – Friday)
(Monday – Tuesday / Storm Make-Up Days)
DECEMBER
December 21 End of Second Grading Period (Wednesday) 15 days Total 41 Days
December 22-31 Winter Break
JANUARY
January 1-3 Winter Break
January 4 Classes Resume (Wednesday) 19 days
Third Grading Period Begins (Wednesday)
January 16 Martin Luther King, Jr., Birthday / Student Holiday (Monday)
FEBRUARY
February 20 Presidents’ Day / Student Holiday (Monday) 19 days
MARCH
March 10 End of Third Grading Period (Friday) 8 days Total 46 Days
March 13-17 Spring Break (Monday-Friday)
March 20 Non-Student Day / Teacher Work Day (Monday)
March 21 Classes Resume (Tuesday) 9 days
Fourth Grading Period Begins (Tuesday)
APRIL
April 14 Non-Student Day (Friday) 19 days
(Storm Make-Up Day)
MAY
May 24 Last Day of Classes (Wednesday) 18 days Total 46 Days
End of Fourth Grading Period (Wednesday)
Student Days 180 Days
1st Nine Weeks – 47
2nd Nine Weeks – 41
3rd Nine Weeks – 46
4th Nine Weeks – 46
Total 180
Board Approved:
October 26, 2015

(180 DAYS)

 

Polk County Schools

No unpaid training/workdays are to be scheduled before August 5, 2016.
Staff Dev. Days (Aug. 8th, 9th )
Teacher Work Days (Aug. 10th,11th,12th)
Monday-Friday, August 8-12, 2016
Student Orientation Day/Paraeducator First Work Day Thursday, August 11, 2016
FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL FOR STUDENTS Monday, August 15, 2016
Holiday (Labor Day) – Student, Teacher (Paid), Paraeducator (Paid) Monday, September 5, 2016
Interim Report (23rd Day – September 15, 2016) Distribute Week of September 12-16, 2016
Staff Development Day (Data Day) Student/Para Holiday Monday, September 19, 2016
FTE Week Monday-Friday, October 10-14, 2016
Teacher Work Day/Student/Paraeducator Holiday Monday, October 17, 2016
End of 1st 9-Week Grading Period Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Grades Due Friday, October 21, 2016
Distribute Report Cards (9 Weeks) Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Holiday (Veterans’ Day) – Student, Teacher, Paraeducator Friday, November 11, 2016
Holiday – Student, Teacher (Paid 11/24 & 11/25), Para (Paid 11/24 & 11/25) Monday-Friday, November 21-25, 2016
Storm Day (Make-up days, if needed) Monday & Tuesday, Nov. 21 & 22, 2016
Interim Report (23rd Day – November 29, 2016) Distribute Week of November 28 – Dec 2, 2016
Last School Day Before Winter Holidays Friday, December 16, 2016
Teachers, Paraeducators and Students Return After Winter Holidays Tuesday, January 3, 2017
END OF 1ST SEMESTER/Last Day of 2nd Grading Period Thursday, January 12, 2017
Teacher Work Day/Student/Paraeducator Holiday Friday, January 13, 2017
Holiday (Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day) –
Student, Teacher (Paid), Paraeducator (Paid)
Monday, January 16, 2017
Grades Due Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Distribute Report Cards (9 weeks) Thursday, January 26, 2017
FTE Week Monday-Friday, February 6-10, 2017
Interim Report (23rd Day – February 16, 2017) Distribute Week of Feb. 13-17, 2017
Holiday (Presidents’ Day) – Student, Teacher (Paid), Paraeducator Monday, February 20, 2017
SPRING BREAK Monday-Friday, March 20-24, 2017
End of 3rd 9-Week Grading Period Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Grades Due Thursday, March 30, 2017
Distribute Report Cards (9 Weeks) Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Mini Break – Student, Teacher, Paraeducator Friday, April 14, 2017
Interim Report (23rd Day – May 1, 2017) Distribute Week of May1-5, 2017
GRADUATION May 24 – June 1, 2017
Holiday (Memorial Day) – Student, Teacher, Paraeducator Monday, May 29, 2017
End of 4th 9-Week Grading Period – LAST DAY FOR STUDENTS –
Last Work Day for Paras
Friday, June 2, 2017
Teacher Work Day Monday, June 5, 2017
Designated Storm Make-Up Days: 11/21, 11/22, and 03/20.
Reminder: Non-Refundable Travel Tickets Should Not Be Purchased In The Event That Storm Days Are
Used As Student Attendance Days and/or Teacher Work Days.
Information on Testing/Assessment dates (FCAT, EOC or End of Course Exams, etc.) is available through the
Assessment, Accountability & Evaluation (AAE) Office and is located on the District website at
http://www.polk-fl.net/parents/testing/default.htm.
The following dates have been chosen as the seven student Early Dismissal days for school year 2016-2017:
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016*
Wednesday, November 16, 2016*
Wednesday, January 25, 2017*
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Wednesday, May 17, 2017
* Designated as Staff Development